Skip to content

A Weekday Brunch

October 19, 2010

There’s something about weekday mornings that makes them consistently stressful. I don’t even work until 2 p.m. and still I find myself running around from place to place, with nary a second for breakfast and barely a minute for lunch.

So sometimes, it’s nice to sit back, relax and enjoy a quiet morning. And what better way to pass the time than by watching Food Network and making a delicious and hearty brunch? Frittatas are the Italian version of an omelette, with creamy eggs started on the stove and often finished in the oven. Keith saw this recipe for a frittata club sandwich on Giada’s show yesterday, and I thought it would be a perfect way to celebrate a peaceful weekday morning. Of course, because I wanted to be able to eat again at some point that day, I nixed the sandwich part of the recipe, and just made the frittata, served on a slice of buttered bread.

This is the first frittata I’ve ever made, and aside from the issues Keith and I had while flipping, it was super easy. It would be great to serve at a brunch party instead of individual omelettes and can be eaten warm or cold. You better believe I have a thousand ideas for my next one!

– 4 ounces pancetta, diced (I used bacon)

– 6 large eggs

– 1/4 cup heavy cream

– 1/4 teaspoon cayenne (my add — it gave it a subtle kick)

– salt and pepper to taste

1) Heat a touch of olive oil in a 10-inch skillet on medium heat. Drop in the pancetta or bacon and cook until the pieces are golden.

2) While the pancetta is cooking, whisk together the eggs, cream, cayenne, salt and pepper.

3) Pour the eggs over the pancetta. Stir once to mix all of the ingredients, then cook for 5-6 minutes without stirring.

4) Place a large plate over the skillet and flip the skillet. Slide the frittata back into the skillet and cook for 3-4 minutes, so that the other side browns.

5) Slide the frittata onto a plate and cut into wedges. Serve with bread and a simple green salad.

No comments yet

Leave a comment