Skip to content

Rain, Rain, Go Away

August 13, 2010
tags:

I took an impromptu trip home on Wednesday (blueberry crumb bars in tow), and on the bus ride to D.C., started mentally planning out all of the delicious recipes I wanted to make over the next few days. I had dreams of this summer vegetable casserole and that shrimp and corn salad and maybe even these strawberry shortcakes. I was ready to start immediately, excited by the prospect of cooking for more than one (or two).

But the weather gods had other plans in store for me. After a furious early morning storm on Thursday, during which the sky turned an eerie shade of gray and I literally ducked under the covers to escape the thunder and lightening (yes, I am actually 5), the power in our house went out. And stayed out. More than 33 hours later, it’s still out.

So as I write from a nearby Starbucks (thank goodness for free wireless!), we have a fridge full of food on the verge of spoiling. Needless to say, we’ll be eating leftovers until everything finally goes.

And my dreams of cooking? Hopefully next week, they’ll come true.

One Comment leave one →
  1. keith permalink
    August 19, 2010 10:45 pm

    so, so dramatic…

Leave a comment