Skip to content

A Roast to Remember

May 27, 2010

Roasted veggies, that is.

Since spring is almost over, I had to make asparagus at least once before its season ended. It’s one of my favorite veggies, but a crazy semester left me little time for cooking. There was a sale at the supermarket today, so I pounced and grabbed a bundle. Roasted asparagus tastes delicious, so I thought it would make a great snack while my family waited for my mom to finish making dinner. The recipe is super easy:

Next time remember, please add salt!

– 1 bundle asparagus

– juice from half a lemon

– 1 clove garlic, minced or grated

– olive oil

– salt and pepper to taste

1) Preheat the oven to 375˚F. Trim the ends off the asparagus spears, leaving the tops on. Lay them flat on a baking sheet lined with tin foil.

2) Drizzle the olive oil, lemon juice and garlic over the spears. Add salt and pepper.

3) Roast them in the oven for 20 minutes, or until the spears are slightly charred but retain their snap.

Sounds simple, right? Well, of course I managed to mess it up by forgetting to add salt. I didn’t notice the difference, but my family did — they’ll never forget that asparagus!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 2:45 am

    this sounds real simple and tasty..i’ll give it a try this weekend.

Leave a comment