Skip to content

Take a Bao

March 29, 2010

Keith and I decided to check out BaoHaus on Saturday night for a light dinner. The Lower East Side hole in the wall serves Gua Baos, or Taiwanese steamed bun sandwiches. They reminded me vaguely of arepas, though a little smaller.

BaoHaus is no ordinary bao stand though. They serve Niman Ranch skirtsteak in their Haus Baos (it’s marinated in cherry cola, among other things) and Niman Ranch pork belly in their Chairman Bao. I thought the Chairman was really good, though Keith preferred the Haus Bao. They also have sweet bao fries, which are toasted pieces of bao drizzled with a gray, sweet sauce. I wasn’t a fan, though it was an interesting idea. But next time I go, I’ll have the boiled peanuts instead.

BaoHaus was featured on Food Network’s “Ultimate Recipe Showdown” with Guy Fieri earlier this month and New York Mag named it the best bun in the city in their Best of NY issue, so owner Eddie Huang is kind of a big deal. Take a bao, Eddie — your creations are delish!

No comments yet

Leave a comment