Skip to content

A Taste of Spring

March 8, 2010

My Master’s project is due in two weeks, so I haven’t had a lot of time to savor my food (or write about it, hence the lack of posts. Oops … )

But the weather was sunny, mild and perfect yesterday, so I decided it was high time for me to take a break. Keith and I went to Washington Square Park for a little bit, which was packed with kids, dogs and musicians — all the signs of spring!

We had to get a donut on the way back (it was required, I swear), so we stopped into Doughnut Plant. The store is always hit-or-miss in the afternoon. Some days, we’ve gotten really lucky and received all sorts of free donuts just so they could get rid of their day’s inventory. Yesterday, they were out of everything except the sunflower cake donut, which owner Mark Israel called “the only sunflower donut in the world.” I believe him, if only because who’s actually nutty enough to dream up a sunflower donut?

Sunflowers complemented my spring day, so I decided to give it a try. The donut was topped with roasted sunflower seeds and had seeds in the batter as well. It was an interesting combination of salty and mildly sweet, like a sunflower seed. Not sure if I would get it again, but it definitely made me crave spring!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

