Skip to content

To Market, To Market

February 11, 2010

… Chelsea Market, that is.

Today, after working on a photo assignment in the freezing cold for a few hours, I needed to warm myself up. Luckily, I was right across the street from Chelsea Market, one of the coolest places to kill an hour or two in New York City.

The market, which is technically in the Meatpacking District, seems like an underground vault. There are bakeries, a wine vault, gourmet grocery stores, a gelato stand and even clothes — I happened upon a designer sample sale one time I was there.

One of my favorite places to go is the Chelsea Wine Vault. They have a great selection from all over the world, and the staff is really knowledgeable and surprisingly un-snobby, which is always appreciated by a wannabe oenophile like me. Plus, Fat Witch is right across from it, and I can never resist their delicious brownies.

The pinot noir warmed me up pretty well too.

Buon Italia is equally impressive. It’s the go-to place for anything Italian in the city, and was even featured on one of Rachael Ray’s Tasty Travels episodes. It’s got everything, including softball-sized mounds of the freshest mozzarella di bufalo I’ve ever eaten.

Since it was late and I was starving (naturally), I got dinner at Friedman’s Lunch, which confusingly also serves breakfast and dinner. I needed to warm myself up, so I got a bowl of the potato-leek soup. It was good, but I think I can do better. Something to try the next time it’s cold out …

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nila permalink
    February 17, 2010 10:04 am

    Run into any Food Network stars while gorging yourself with blondies? One of my favorite parts of Chelsea Market is the little water wall where you can sit and people watch while sipping on something warm from the coffee bar.
    Also, Ish rocks : )

Leave a Reply

